10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

Shaving is a tough everyday task for many men out there. Picking the best aftershave is even more complicated. Even if you decide to grow a beard, you’ll still need to shave a part of your face. The beard doesn’t simplify the process, it makes it harder. Human skin is not created to withstand constant scraping with sharp objects. No matter how wonderful and high-tech your razor is, the skin feels irritated and dry after a shave. That’s where the aftershave comes in.We’ve done the research for you and came up with best aftershave products available on the market today. Take a look. Perhaps one of them will become your best shaving pal.

 

What Is An Aftershave?

Aftershave is a special remedy to moisturize and soothe your skin after shaving. No matter how well you choose your razor and shaving cream, the skin surface still suffers from the cutting and scraping. In many cases, even the most experienced men, tend to cut their skin. The aftershave usually serves as an antiseptic and a moisturizer. The ingredients responsible for killing the bacteria are alcohol and witch hazel.

Many aftershave lotions double up as cologne due to an appealing and long-lasting scent.

 

What Does An Ideal Aftershave Do?

  • Acts as an antiseptic (kills bacteria)
  • Provides moisturizing and soothing qualities
  • Offers a good scent

A good balance of antibacterial and moisturizing ingredients coupled with a nice scent make up a perfect aftershave.

 

Types of Aftershave

aftershave-type 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

There are several types of aftershave. Choosing the right one depends on your goals and skin type.

  • Lotion: Lotions are good for normal to oily skin types. They usually contain alcohol. Lotions don’t have a greasy texture. They are easy to apply.
  • Oil: Oil contains moisturizing properties which make the skin soft and fresh.This type is suitable for dry skin and also offers some healing properties to the skin.
  • Tonic: Tonics offer the best antiseptic properties. They are good for all skin types. However, they contain too little moisturizing ingredients. That’s why if you have sensitive skin, you need to use a moisturizing after applying the tonic. Men with sensitive skin should look for tonics with witch hazel rather than alcohol.
  • Balm: Balms are great moisturizers and antiseptics. They contain a variety of oils that provide soothing and moisturizing properties. Overusing balms can cause irritation and acne since they may block sweat release. This type is suitable for normal to dry skin.
  • Gel: Gels feel cool and smooth on the skin. They are good for normal skin. This type is great for dealing with razor burns. They penetrate the skin quickly so they are great for the hot and humid weather. The fast absorption property may not be suitable for men with dry skin.

 

Summary Review of The Best Aftershave: Editor’s Top Picks

Our editor took some time to review all the suitable items we found and came up with the top pick.

 

Top Pick 1: Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Aftershave Balm

shaving_balm_sandalwood_v3 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This aftershave balm contains many natural ingredients and no alcohol. It’s suitable for all skin types and can soothe sensitive skin. The product has a non-greasy texture and comes with an easy-to-use bottle. The price is a bit high.

 Beardstyle Product Rating: 9.8/10

 

Top Pick 2: Calvin Klein OBSESSION for Men

28-1-1024x1024-1 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorThis is a high-quality moisturizing aftershave balm suitable for all skin types. The long-lasting scent of this product eliminates the need to use a cologne.

Beardstyle Product Rating: 9.5/10

 

Top Pick 3: The Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil

26-8-1024x1024 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This oil provides hydrating properties and doesn’t contain alcohol. It’s a strong antiseptic and a great moisturizer. The oil comes in a convenient drip-top bottle and smells very nice.

Beardstyle Product Rating: 9.5/10

 

 

Best Aftershave Available on The Market: Extensive Reviews

While the variety of aftershaves on the market today is impressive, not too many of them do what they should. A diluted sweet-smelling liquid with a touch of alcohol just won’t do the job. You need a smooth, moisturizing, and non-irritating product with an appealing scent. How can you choose the right one?

 

1. Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Aftershave Balm

shaving_balm_sandalwood_v3-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This aftershave balm is great for sensitive skin since it contains a variety of moisturizing ingredients and lacks alcohol. It calms the irritated skin allowing it to heal after shaving. The texture is non-greasy so the application is worry-free. The aftershave comes in a small bottle with a pump making it easy to apply.

 

shaving_balm_sandalwood_v3-1-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
LATHER & WOOD SHAVING CO. AFTERSHAVE BALM
OPINION
We liked everything about this natural aftershave except for the price tag. It’s suitable for men with all skin types. You only need a small amount of application. Even though it contains different oils, the product doesn’t feel greasy.
PROS
Moisturizing Properties
Alcohol-free
Well-designed bottle
Suitable for sensitive skin
CONS:
Sandalwood scent may not be suitable for everyone
High price tag
9.8
excellent
buy now

 

2. Calvin Klein OBSESSION for Men

28-1-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This aftershave balm is created specifically for men with sensitive skin, who love a great scent. It doesn’t contain any alcohol. Instead, there is an impressive variety of moisturizing ingredients and vitamins. This is one of a few aftershave balms that can double up as a cologne since the scent is long-lasting.  The product soothes the skin right after shaving, prevent dryness and itchiness.

 

28-1-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
CALVIN KLEIN OBSESSION FOR MEN
OPINION
This balm has a great non-greasy texture, which makes the application simple. It cools and soothes the skin after shaving while providing a soft feel. It’s a great option for guys with sensitive skin, who like the branded Obsession smell of woods, lavender, nut, grapefruit, and coriander. The price is high.
PROS
Moisturizing
Non-greasy texture
Alcohol-free
CONS
High price
Smell doesn't last long
9.5
awesome
buy now

 

3. The Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil

26-8-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This oil is specifically formulated to soothe the skin after shaving. It doesn’t contain any alcohol. The ingredients include Aloe Vera juice, which has strong healing properties. You only need a small drop of oil to get the moisturizing effect. The oil acts as an antiseptic. The drop-top bottle makes the aftershave easy to use.

 

26-8-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
The Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil
Opinion
We liked this nice-smelling product, which gives the skin a smooth and fresh feel. It doesn’t dry out your face. The texture is oily but you only need to use only a few drops at a time. The price tag is a bit high but since you only use a little at once, it’s not overly pricey.
Pros
Moisturizing properties
Healing and antiseptic properties
No alcohol content
Easy-to-use bottle
Cons
High price
Scent may not be suitable for everyone
9.5
awesome
buy now

 

4.Proraso After Shave Lotion

26-6-300x245 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This product is specifically formulated to give a cool and refreshing sensation after shaving. It contains a little alcohol but also moisturizing and soothing ingredients. It may be suitable for men with sensitive skin. The aftershave has an appealing scent that lasts fairly long. It doesn’t contain any parabens. Natural oils provide a smooth sensation without a greasy texture.

 

proraso-after-shave-lotion-1-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Proraso After Shave Lotion
Opinion
If you like the menthol scent, this product is a good choice. If your skin is not overly sensitive, you can enjoy the soothing and moisturizing properties of this lotion. The scent disappears quickly.
Pros
Moisturizing properties
Non-greasy texture
Moderate price tag
Appealing scent
Cons
May have a drying effect on the overly sensitive skin
The scent goes away quickly.
9
amazing
buy now

 

5. Aqua Velva Cooling After Shave

26-1-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This is one of the oldest aftershave products on the market today and its popularity is still going strong. It provides a nice and fresh smell and anti-bacterial as well as moisturizing properties. Only a small amount is required to get the job done. The price tag of this aftershave is very attractive. When applied, this aftershave produces a cooling sensation.

 

81fsrW6mKrL._SX522_-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Aqua Velva Cooling After Shave
Opinion
Our team liked this on-budget aftershave for everyday use. We would recommend it to anyone, who is looking for a great price and likes the menthol scent. The bottle is well designed and shatterproof.
Pros:
Good price
Fresh scent
Moisturizing properties
Shatterproof bottle
Cons
Scent is not long-lasting
Menthol scent may not suit everyone
9
amazing
buy now

 

6. Clubman Pinaud After Shave Lotion

26-2-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

If you want to go back in time when barber shops used to do the shaving, you’ll love the smell of this aftershave. It’s truly the cool Sean Connery type of smell appreciated by older men and women. The younger generation may like it for its low price, a long-lasting fragrance, and moisturizing properties. It’s one of the oldest brands on the market today. The formula was created in France and then imported to the USA.

 

26-2-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Clubman Pinaud After Shave Lotion
Opinion
If you like the scent, this aftershave product is awesome. It contains quite a lot of alcohol so it’s not suitable for men with sensitive skin. The manufacturer produces this aftershave with several scents. You can choose the one you like best. The “old school classic” is not a big hit with the younger men.
Pros:
Long lasting scent
Moderate price tag
Anti-bacterial
Respected brand
Cons
Scent doesn’t suit everyone
Not suitable for sensitive skin
9
amazing
buy now

 

7. Paul Sebastian for Men Aftershave Lotion

26-3-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This is a high-quality aftershave with a very long-lasting scent. You can use it as a cologne as well. The product does a great job healing the skin and providing an antibacterial effect. However, it contains a lot of alcohol, which makes it unsuitable for men with sensitive skin. The spray bottle is easy to use. Only a small amount of product is required to do the job.

 

26-3-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Paul Sebastian for Men Aftershave Lotion
Opinion
We liked the amazing smell of this lotion. It does a great job making the skin feel fresh and pampered after the shave. However, it doesn’t provide moisturizing properties so it’s not good for irritable skin.
Pros
Appealing scent
Easy-to-use bottle
Antibacterial effect
Respectable manufacturer
Cons
Not suitable for sensitive skin
High risk of not buying the original
8.5
best
buy now

 

8. Gillette After Shave Gel, Sensitive Skin

26-4-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This gel aftershave has a soft and soothing texture. The product is formulated specifically for sensitive skin so it has a light fragrance and doesn’t contain any harsh ingredients. The gel smells fresh but not offensive. It’s easy to use thanks to a well-designed bottle. Gillette is one of the most respectable manufacturers in the shaving product industry.

 

26-4-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Gillette After Shave Gel, Sensitive Skin
Opinion
The gel goes on smooth. It soothes and heals the irritated skin making it perfect for guys with skin problems. We liked the smell. Too bad it’s not long-lasting.
Pros
Very good price
Moisturizing effects
Appealing scent
Suitable for sensitive skin
Cons
Strong but not long lasting scent
High alcohol content
8.5
Best
buy now

 

9. Nivea for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm

26-5-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This aftershave product is specifically designed to soothe sensitive skin. It doesn’t contain any alcohol. Instead, there are many soothing ingredients, such as Vitamin E and chamomile. The aftershave comes with a nice price tag and a slight fragrance. It’s a great product for men with dry skin.

 

313245-Nivea-Post-Shave-Balm-100ml-21-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Nivea for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm
Opinion
When we read about the moisturizing properties of the balm, we were afraid to find a greasy texture. The texture is non-oily. The product soothes the burning sensation and keeps the skin feeling fresh.
Pros
No alcohol content
Great moisturizing properties
Non-greasy texture
Moderate price
Cons:
Strong fragrance (disappears fast)
May cause allergies (should be spot tested first)
8
Great
buy now

 

10. Old Spice Classic Scent After Shave

26-7-300x300 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor

This aftershave feels and smells fresh. It contains plenty of alcohol and no moisturizing ingredients. So it’s only suitable for men with non-sensitive skin. The smell is strong and long-lasting. It’s a good choice for men, who appreciate the good Old Spice classic products. It comes in a shatterproof plastic bottle.

 

715vUQduXQL._SX522_-150x150 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our Editor
Old Spice Classic Scent After Shave
Opinion
If you like Old Spice scent and don’t have sensitive skin, you can take advantage of this fairly-priced aftershave product. This manufacturer has been working on aftershave products for years and came up with a high-quality formula.
Pros:
Great scent
Shatterproof bottle
Moderate price tag
Cons
High alcohol content
Not suitable for sensitive skin
7
Good
buy now

 

Comparison Chart:

Drag & Drop Product to Compare & Contrast Your Preferred Aftershave

PhotoNameAlcohol-free Moisturizing propertiesScentPriceBuy Now

Drag
Here

Drag
Here

Drag
Here

  • Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Afterhsave Balm Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Afterhsave Balm
  • Calvin Klein OBSESSION for MenCalvin Klein OBSESSION for Men
  • The Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil The Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil
  • Proraso After Shave Lotion Proraso After Shave Lotion
  • Aqua Velva Cooling After Shave Aqua Velva Cooling After Shave
  • Clubman Pinaud After Shave LotionClubman Pinaud After Shave Lotion
  • Paul Sebastian for Men Aftershave Lotion Paul Sebastian for Men Aftershave Lotion
  • Gillette After Shave Gel, Sensitive Skin Gillette After Shave Gel, Sensitive Skin
  • Nivea for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm Nivea for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm
  • Old Spice Classic Scent After Shave Old Spice Classic Scent After Shave
shaving_balm_sandalwood_v322222 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorLather & Wood Shaving Co. Afterhsave Balm Sandalwood $$$  5102eS8LOyL212222 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorCalvin Klein OBSESSION for MenNut, lavender, and wood$$$$81XJVB0bFQL._SY355_ 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorThe Blades Grim – Aftershave Oil Citrus and floral$hr_425-021-00_proraso-aftershave-lotion 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorProraso After Shave Lotion Menthol $$s-l300-5 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorAqua Velva Cooling After Shave Menthol $clubmanASlotion_grande 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorClubman Pinaud After Shave LotionBay rum $61L-URdd1WL._SY355_ 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorPaul Sebastian for Men Aftershave Lotion Floral $$615eAXquxwS._SY355_ 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorGillette After Shave Gel, Sensitive Skin Fresh$313245-Nivea-Post-Shave-Balm-100ml-212222 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorNivea for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm Chamomile $$715vUQduXQL._SY355_ 10 Best Aftershave for Men Review: Top 3 Picks by Our EditorOld Spice Classic Scent After Shave Old Spice 4.3 x 2 x 1.2

 

Final Verdict:

Long reviews and dozens of answered questions led us to believe that we agree with our editor. Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Aftershave Balm is our top pick.

9.8
excellent
The Best Value Product
Lather & Wood Shaving Co. Aftershave Balm
It contains a variety of natural ingredients, has an appealing, scent, and good moisturizing properties. In our opinion, it’s a winner. The price tag may put you off but all the pros still make it the best choice.
Pros
Non-alcoholic
Moisturizes skin
Soothing effect
Cons
Costly
Smells odd
buy now

 

Things You Should Need to Know about An Aftershave

Applying an aftershave is one of the best ways to keep your skin health and irritation-free. Some men skip using the aftershave and apply moisturizers right after shaving. This may be dangerous since the skin may be damaged and require an antiseptic. Moisturizers may block the pores and cause acne.

The ingredients you should look for in the aftershave are:

  • Alcohol or witch hazel (witch hazel is preferable since it doesn’t dry the skin as much)
  • Aloe Vera (soothing and healing effect)
  • Chamomile (soothing effect)
  • Vitamins (nourishing effect)
  • Tea tree oil (antiseptic and hydrating effect)

The more natural ingredients the aftershave contains, the more chances you’ll get a high-quality product without the risk of irritation and allergies. Aftershaves are made of natural ingredients are usually more costly than their synthetic counterparts.

 

After Shave vs. Cologne: What’s The Difference?

Aftershave is designed to serve as an antiseptic and moisturizer while providing a slight scent. Cologne can serve as a slight antiseptic while providing a strong and appealing scent. These two products are not interchangeable. You can use two of them together as long as the scents don’t clash.

 

A Quick Note on Scent Selection

All aftershave products come with different scents, starting from menthol and ending with branded blends, such as Old Spice. If you are not prone to allergies and irritations, you can take advantage of strong-scented aftershave and save on cologne.

  • Always read the reviews about the aftershave you are planning to buy. Some are strong-scented but last only for an hour or so. Light-scented aftershaves often offer a sweet or floral fragrance men may not appreciate.
  • Take a look at the ingredients list. If you see any form of menthol, your aftershave will smell minty, no matter what else the manufacturer might state on the package.

If you use cologne, opt for short-lived aftershave scents or fragrance-free products. Otherwise, you may get an unpleasant mix of scents.

 

Things  to Look for When Choosing An Aftershave

  • Scent. Some aftershaves have long-lasting scents. Pick the one you can enjoy all day long. Read the reviews to find out about the strength of the fragrance. Choose fragrance-free or slightly scented aftershaves if you are prone to allergies and irritations.
  • Alcohol content. If the aftershave contains alcohol, it offers antiseptic properties. However, alcohol creates a drying effect on your skin. Witch hazel can fight bacteria just as well but doesn’t dry the skin out as much.
  • Price tag. If the product has a low price tag, it most likely doesn’t contain too many natural ingredients. Low-priced aftershaves have a high alcohol content and may contain parabens. Their scents are usually strong but rarely pleasant.
  • Ingredients. The more natural ingredients, such as essential oils, the aftershave contains the better moisturizing properties it offers. Always look for either alcohol or witch hazel. They give an antibacterial effect. Try to avoid products containing parabens. Avoid grapefruit, high camphor or alcohol content, lemon oil, and eucalyptus. These ingredients dry your skin.
  • Packaging. Always check out how to apply the aftershave. Spray bottles are the simplest. Dispensers are good as well. Bottles with large openings lead to overusing the product.
  • Type. Depending on your skin type, choose between lotion, oil, and balm.

 

Tips for Using Aftershave

  • Unless the aftershave comes in a spray bottle, apply it to your clean hands and spread it evenly over them to generate heat.
  • Expose your palms to the air for several seconds. This will help some alcohol evaporate and reduce the unpleasant burning feeling.
  • Gently tap the shaved areas with your hands to apply the aftershave. Start with cheekbones, go down to the jawline, and finish at the neck area.
  • You may need to reapply the aftershave if the skin still feels uncomfortable.
  • If your skin feels dry and irritated after using an aftershave, you need to choose another one. The only way to find your perfect aftershave is the trial and error method.
  • If you are prone to allergies, spot test the aftershave on your neck before applying it to your whole face.
  • The fragrance will usually air out after a while so don’t be put off by a strong scent.
  • Spray bottles with aftershave are convenient but they have a slight learning curve. Consider spraying the lotion on your hands first. This will keep it from accidentally getting into your eyes.
  • Aftershave is not a cologne so use it only on your face (neck, cheekbones). Putting it on your wrists is a bad idea.
  • Don’t mix cologne and aftershave unless you are 100% sure the scents match. Clashing scents can be terrible for your image and hard to wash out.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Is aftershave really necessary?

Ans: Some men avoid using aftershave. It’s possible but not very convenient. If you opt out of using an aftershave, you need to use an antiseptic and a skin moisturizer separately to make your face look good.

Q: Can I use my aftershave as a cologne?

Ans: Yes, but the effect will not be as strong as when you use a real cologne.

Q: What purpose does the alcohol in the aftershave serve?

Ans: Alcohol provides an anti-bacterial effect, not allowing the infection to affect the nicked and scratched skin.

 

We hope you enjoyed choosing the best aftershave product together with us. If our picks aren’t suitable for you, use our tips to choose your perfect option. Remember, choosing a face care product involves the trial and error method. Good luck!

Reply